Coping with sugar

Day 4 and in the midst of the witching hour.  Had a minor panic attack earlier feeling like there is so much to do, so much on my plate, and I never seem to have enough hours in the day.  I felt suffocated by the organizing that needs to be done around the house, the dishes that didn’t get all the way done, the load of laundry waiting to be folded, the messages to return, the Christmas cards I should have ordered and sent but haven’t.  I found it difficult to breathe and I felt cranky and tense.

I’m not sure why, I think I have a longing to just hide away for a while, sleep, and get through these first few days in peace.  But I feel like I can’t ask for that, that it sounds ridiculous because no one thinks I have an issue, or at least not one I can’t handle on my own.  Asking for time, space or help seems impossible.  So what I’m doing instead, is allowing myself sugar.

Yep, normally, I’m pretty restrained when it comes to sugar.  I’ve almost completely cut it out of my diet.  I am super into fitness and clean eating, but these past couple days all I want is cookies, brownies, you name it.  It’s so weird!  The past times I’ve tried quitting, I haven’t let myself give in because I didn’t want to trade the wine calories for sugar calories, but at this moment, all I can think about is comfort food.  And I figure if it gets me through this early period and onto more solid ground, then what the hell.  I know how to lose a few pounds when I need to.  For now, this feels like a way to be gentle with myself.  So I’m curled up in my sweats and a comforter, eating peanut butter chocolate chip cookies with a glass of unsweetened almond milk (oh, the irony!).  And I’m okay with it.  Previously I would see this as the ultimate failure, but right now it seems like progress.

11 thoughts on “Coping with sugar”

  1. Let yourself. Forget about christmas cards and anything else that just isn’t going to get done. Everyone will survive. Life will go on.

    Be kind and gentle with yourself. Indulge a bit.

    1. Thank you. Being a “type A” personality it’s easy for me to slip into thinking I have to be perfect and organized all the time, but you are absolutely right, I know that I have to make this the #1 priority right now.

  2. Congrats on your day 4! 🙂 Great!!!

    Doing stuff to make you feel better, take your mind of stuff is a good idea. But binging on sugar is not such a good idea. Heads up: addiction to alcohol is closely linked to a body having difficulty dealing with sugar or, iow, being addicted to sugar. The word you want to google for is hypoglycemic or hypoglycemia. Thing is that we, in a blood sugar low, get urges or cravings towards sugar. And us having drank too much in the last year tend to interpreted that as ‘I need a drink’. In order to prevent it an not make you crave for either sugar or alcohol you might want to get a big breakfast with muesli (not cruesli, take out half of the raisins) and possibly some protein as boiled eggs too. I continue the day with eating just a little before I get hungry. That really helps against cravings for either sugar or alcohol. That’s how I did get my carbs but the slow ones, not the refined sugar. Hope it has been of help. 🙂

    1. I totally agree and I know that you’re right. Sugar is sooo bad for us!!! I totally know better. But emotionally I’m so fragile… I’m allowing myself a couple days of treating myself for getting through the days without wine. If that gets me to the New Year sober, I’ll attack my sugar cravings with gusto in January. 🙂 I appreciate your suggestions!

  3. Hey GOTL! You’re doing it. Keep putting one foot in front of the other and you’ll get there. I can totally relate to no one knowing or thinking that I have a problem with alcohol- and that can make it tricky to believe there actually is a problem, but deep down I always knew. Otherwise we wouldn’t be blogging about it 😉
    I have increased my sugar/salty intake as well and although I didn’t really want to, it is something that has helped me not to drink. It sounds like you eat really healthy so I think in moderation you will be fine. There’s lots of time to figure this all out, the most important thing right now is that you take care of yourself and get through each day sober. Then once you have some momentum built up you can shift your focus to other areas. Be kind to yourself and do what you have to do to get by. Just my two cents, anyways 🙂
    And reach out- we are all here for you!

  4. Eat whatever you want for awhile! You will be fine. You can also up your B vitamin intake and maybe magnesium for stress…I think both of those things can help with some of the sugar/alcohol cravings. I ate lots of sugar at first and it tapered off eventually. Congrats on Day 4. You are doing great. 🙂

  5. Yey for day 4! At this early stage, and with all the stress of christmas etc, I would say if you need cookies and milk, you should jolly well eat them! I know sugar isnt really the best thing for our bodies, but quitting the booze is hard to do at the best of times, so denying other things as well might only make it harder.
    I agree with Ain about the to do list. Plus, you DO have the right to ask for help and or time alone if you need it. We all do, whatever the circumstances.
    Thinking about you 🙂

    1. Thank you! I think so too. I usually preach the evils of sugar, but at the moment it just doesnt seem like that big a deal. I know im leaning on it but I also know i tend to get over food cravings pretty fast sinve it makes me feel like crap. 🙂

Leave a Reply

