Today I’m grateful.

Still here on day 5 today.  This week has actually been pretty easy for me so far because of all that I’ve been going through on the infertility front.  Some of you may have read my previous post (right before my last slip) regarding getting some bad news about being able to have a baby… not a complete deal breaker, just some challenges I would face.  This week on Wednesday I had a procedure to try and unblock my fallopian tubes, so I was pretty preoccupied with that and had zero desire to drink because of the importance of taking good care of myself throughout this process.  

So the good news was that everything went smoothly, my tubes are open, and we went ahead and did IUI (intra-uterine insemination) on Thursday.  So… with all this hopefulness going on, drinking is the furthest thing from my mind.  I’m just grateful that things went well, that we have a shot at having a child naturally, and that I’m addressing this issue now, rather than down the line with a child.  

My husband is out of town, so I’m just enjoying a calm Friday evening to myself with my dog, a couple food and photography projects, and some lame TV.  It feels amazing to just relax and have some down time after all the crazy energy and poking and prodding I endured this week.  So… for now taking great care of myself just feels like the thing I want to be doing.  I have always thought that it would be hard for me to not drink during a pregnancy, but I have heard/read in all my sober blogger/writer reading that most women have no problem stopping while pregnant.  At the moment I feel that same way, like I wouldn’t go there.  But what’s curious to me is then how most say they just picked up where they left off after having the baby… seems like if you went that long then it would be easy to maintain.  But I suppose it depends on your mindset as to why you’re not drinking.  So I want to make sure I’m still thinking of it as a healthy choice for me and my own life, not just something I’m taking a break from solely due to trying to conceive.  

Overall it has been nice to get out of my head about the drinking this week though and to feel like abstaining has come naturally.  What a relief.  Grateful for my dog, my house, my cozy bed and my yummy tea.  

xo

8 thoughts on “Today I’m grateful.”

  1. Hi, GOTL, I’m glad I found your blog. I’m on Day 6 today, so I’m right there with ya. I had fertility issues too, so terribly frustrating. I’ll be following along and keeping my fingers crossed for you.
    Take care 🙂

  2. Hi GOTL! I just saw a comment you posted, and I had to come over and write this… I am doing a 5K today with the organization Girls on the Run! How funny is that? Anyway, glad I found you, and I can’t wait to read more of your story!

    1. I’ve been reading your wonderful blog for a while now and have found it very helpful, glad you found me too! Good luck with the race! That’s a great organization. 🙂

  3. how lovely to see you back here – have just been catching up on all your news. you sound very cosy in this post! glad to hear you are taking such good care of yourself!

  4. Come back when you can. I’m a lawyer, too, and I’ve been very inspired by your blog. I find your voice and your story very similar to mine, and would love to hear more from you.

Leave a Reply

