My sober tree

My sober tree

Day two today. I’m trying to make sure I reward myself this time around, and even being on day two seemed worthy of a reward, after having a bunch of day ones over and over. I wanted something I could look at to remind me and that would help me stay cheerful. I’ve never been that good at taking care of plants… or myself. So I thought having a plant to take care of would be a good reminder. Keep the plant healthy and keep myself healthy. Besides, it’s cute and cheerful, don’t you think?
Day two is going well so far. I still, somehow, feel hung over from Friday. Or maybe I’m just detoxing. Either way, I’m ignoring the chores and curling up on the couch, reading blogs, and soon I’ll hit the gym. I’m going to be selfish for a few days and take care of me. And my new plant.
xo
GOTL

13 thoughts on “My sober tree”

    1. I haven’t yet. I’ve been mulling over the idea this time around, because I’ve started over soooo many times now. The blogging world is great support but it’s also super easy to slip away since it’s not in person. I’m just scared… to see someone I know, to own this issue in front of other people in person, to have to buy into the “powerlessness” idea which I think takes away one’s own strength… I just don’t know. Despite all these fears, I sort of know that I need some in-person support. I guess I’m still just working up my courage. Thanks for the nudge.

      1. The beautiful thing about running into someone you know at a meeting is that there is no judgment. It was months before I saw someone that I had known from the outside world, and when we locked eyes from across the room we ended up sharing a knowing smile. One that said, “hey, I’m not alone.”

      2. And as for powerlessness, it seemed daunting at first to me. But as I grew in the program I realized what a beautiful and freeing concept that is. To know that I don’t have to be in control over everything, that my world won’t collapse if I let something bigger than me take over. It was a truly liberating moment for me.

      3. I like that way of looking at it. I definitely feel willing this time to open myself up to all possible tools. I also feel more of an acceptance that this is the right choice for me. I traditionally like to be in control of things so you have a point there.

  1. Are you giving the plant the alcohol instead of drinking it yourself? That poor plant, but at least you’re sober, stick with it your worth it!

Leave a Reply

