Day 7 of no alcohol and Day 4 of juice fasting!

Other than being ever so slightly hungry, I feel like a million bucks, seriously!  I can’t believe how good my body feels for giving it this gift of cleansing.  It has made abstaining from alcohol easier the past couple of days, because I’m focused on the cleanse and detoxing.  For the past four days, I’ve been drinking fresh juices and water, with mixes made from veggies and fruits like carrot, celery, apple, kale, parsley, beet, pear, ginger, chard, cucumber, and oranges.  I’ve never felt so healthy since I was a child.  It’s weird.  My vision even seems clearer!  I have a natural energy that I know I’ve felt before but it’s been so many years that it’s a foreign feeling.  

Today is a bit hard, only because it’s Saturday and the husband and I are lounging around the house with no plans other than to relax and watch a movie or two tonight.  He just went to pick himself up a burrito (swoon) and some organic berries and mint for me to make myself a dessert juice.  Sounds good, right?  It’s going to be my mock wine.  Only better.  But seriously, lounging around the house with time to relax definitely makes me want to drink.  I associate relaxing with wine.  It’s the weekend!  Relax!  Pour a glass of pinot and have some lovely cheese and crackers!  (Okay now I’m really making it harder on myself.)  I’m wondering when those thoughts will dissipate, or if they ever will.  It’s a learned behavior — for so long I’ve had wine to relax at home.  I’ve loved nothing more than to curl up in front of a favorite show or good movie, snack away on something fun and delicious, and wash it down with some fancy wine.  I live in wine country after all!  It’s a way of life here.  

I need to experience the discomfort of creating new habits, and it’s hard.  (Whine.)  Today in yoga my teacher kept saying that the true practice of yoga is to experience happiness in times of discomfort.  In a challenging pose, for example.  That concept translates to life off the mat and I find it extremely useful to meditate on it when the cravings hit hard.  I am happier sober.  This has proven itself to be true, time and time again.  If I can breathe through the craving, breathe in that happiness I feel when I wake up hangover free in the morning, and breathe out the craving, breathe out that urge for a vice whose happiness is a lie, it helps.  

On that yoga-geek note, I’m excited to say that I’ve signed up to start my training to attain my yoga teacher 200 hour certification!  This is something I’ve wanted to do ever since I really started a regular practice in May of 2011, and I’ve decided that this is the perfect time to dive in.  So I’ll be busy for five weekends starting in February.  When I am practicing regularly, I am better able to handle everything, including quitting drinking.  Plus, having yoga training on weekends is that much extra incentive to be alcohol free… drinking and yoga teacher training just do not go hand in hand.  

Staying focused on my goals and breathing through the hard parts… that’s my mantra today.  What helps you through a difficult craving?

9 thoughts on “Day 7 of no alcohol and Day 4 of juice fasting!”

  1. Great to hear about the yoga deal – awesome!

    I wish I were the type to lounge with a glass of wine or two. But I know that those glasses turn into bottles and then Paul turns into Ugly. Sloppy. Dangerous. Sick. Ugh. The thoughts do start to dissipate after time – it’s just a matter of rewiring the brain. I used to drink almost every single time I was in the kitchen (it was a good way of hiding it). So when I got sober, not drinking while cooking was hard. But I had to learn to do it. Just slug it out. No other way. But these things do fade.. 🙂

    Blessings

    Paul

    1. Me too, Paul. I always imagine that I’m that person who can pour a glass and just have that one, maybe two, and relax like a “normal” person. But when I really think about it, I know that I don’t even want one glass. My gut reaction to that is, “why bother?” It’s like I don’t even want it if I know I have to set predetermined limits, even if once in a while I truly do just have the two glasses. I’m with you on the cooking, that was my favorite, cooking with wine! Good to know it fades.

  2. That’s great news about the Yoga teaching thing – brilliant idea to put something in place for the weekends when you might need to take your mind off the wine!
    I am on day seven too. I don’t know how many days I want to do yet, but I do know that I drank – and thought about – wine too much, and had to give myself a break.
    I’ve quit smoking, and some people compare it to quitting alcohol but I didn’t (and don’t) think that they’re the same. What I do find, though, is that when I crave wine at a certain time, say 6pm when I’m going to cook dinner, or on Friday night or whatever, the craving sensation is similar to those that I felt when giving up smoking.
    I knew I wanted to quit smoking forever, but I had a chart showing 30 days that I could mark off, and I think there were stickers to use as well, so you could say which days were harder and when you felt great. I guess the idea was that once you’ve gone 30 days, you’re so much more likely to stay smoke-free. I don’t think that will work for wine, because it is so much more complex, the way it’s intertwined with all sorts of other habits and moods and rituals.
    But I suppose what I’m trying to say is, people used to go on about quitting smoking ‘one cigarette at a time’. Maybe that aspect of it is similar to quitting the wine. One craving at a time, and like Paul says, you just have to slug it out.
    I still feel very new to all this and I’m very up and down emotionally. So thank you so much for sharing your experiences – I really admire your honesty.
    Good luck :-),
    Emily x

    1. Thank you Emily. We are on the same day! It is very up and down for the first bit, that’s for sure. And for me, this is my third recent try to really stick with it. But even though I slipped up, the sober days have still accumulated and this time it’s a bit easier than the last couple. Good for you quitting smoking. I did that seven years ago once and for all, and it was hard. I don’t know which is harder but I agree with you, alcohol is way more complex. Good luck!!

  3. Hi! I am glad you’re doing good and focusing on the good for you habits. It can be tough with those cravings, they do tend to disapate with time. What helped me was staying busy and pie! Lol! Sorry, not the healthiest but in the beginning sweets really helped… or at least I thought that they did. I am glad you got a better habits started 🙂

    1. Hi Maggie,
      Sweets do help!! The last couple of times I was hitting the sweets hard. This is a different approach but seems to be working, I feel much more potitive this time around! Any treats, whether it’s a piece of pie or a hot bath, help though. 🙂

  4. ❤ woooo! jealous of that teacher training! I love yoga, and love how it helps quiet the "monkey mind" and helps wring you out physically & spiritually, and leaves you calmer and happier.

    Are you following any particular recipes/blogs on juicing? Do you use a juicer? I am terribly curious about this. I am a vegetarian, and am doing a two week vegan challenge. Not juicing though – although I do see a TON of recipes & inspiration on Instagram. (If you're not on instagram, might be worth a look ? I'm @healthappiness, if you want to follow 😉 )

    1. Hi HHS,

      I do follow quite a few vegan blogs, and have considered myself “vegan-curious” for a long time. I’ve tried it on and off but coming off this cleanse I plan to fully go for it and make the transition. The juicer I’m currently using is the Champion juicer — http://www.championjuicer.com/. It works great, but I can’t say I have anything to compare it to since it’s my first one! I’m currently either just experimenting with blends, or grabbing recipes out of Joe Cross’s book, from the documentary Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead. http://www.fatsickandnearlydead.com/ I think the book is called “Reboot with Joe” and it has a whole bunch of juice recipes. Also the juicer came with a bunch of more simple blends to try. I should check out instagram, too!

  5. The main thing that helps me through a difficult craving is results. Feeling rested, focused and clear-minded reminds me of why I shouldn’t drink. It feels good to have power over the drink. I don’t need it and I am strong enough to say “no”. It’s still hard though 😦

Leave a Reply

